Who we are

The Friends of Socialist China platform is co-edited by Keith Bennett, Danny Haiphong and Carlos Martinez. We also have an advisory group, composed of the following members:

Adnan Akfirat
Chairman of the Board of the Belt and Road Initiative Quarterly (BRIQ) and Chairman of the Turkish-Chinese Business Development and Friendship Association (Turkey)

HE Kojo Amoo Gottfried
President, Ghana China Friendship Association (GHACHIFA) and former Ambassador of Ghana to the People’s Republic of China

Abayomi Azikiwe
Editor, Pan African News Wire (US)

Roland Boer
Professor of Philosophy, School of Marxism at the Dalian University of Technology (China/Australia)

Ben Chacko
Editor, Morning Star (Britain)

Jenny Clegg
China specialist and author (Britain)

Kenny Coyle
Journalist and director of Praxis Press (Britain)

Michael Crook
Chairman, International Committee for the Promotion of Chinese Industrial Cooperatives (‘Gung Ho’) (China/Britain)

Smail Debeche
President of the Algeria-China Friendship Association and Professor in Political Sciences and International Relations and Director of the Laboratory of Researches and Studies in International Relations at University of Algiers 3 (Algeria)

Radhika Desai
Convenor, International Manifesto Group; Professor, University of Manitoba (Canada)

Francisco Domínguez
Academic, specialist on Latin America (Britain)

Mick Dunford
Emeritus Professor, University of Sussex; Visiting Professor, Chinese Academy of Sciences (Ireland/Britain)

Derek Ford
Education Department chair, Hampton Institute; Assistant professor of education studies at DePauw University (US)

Sara Flounders
Co-director, International Action Center; Contributing Editor, Workers World (US)

Alan Freeman
Co-director, Geopolitical Economy Research Institute (Canada)

Stefania Fusero
Independent researcher (Italy)

Ian Goodrum
Senior Editor, China Daily; CPUSA member (China/US)

Robert Griffiths
General Secretary, Communist Party of Britain

Kenneth Hammond
Professor of East Asian and Global History, New Mexico State University (US)

Christopher Helali
International Secretary, Party of Communists USA

Senator Mushahid Hussain
Chairman, Pakistan-China Institute

Elias Jabbour
Adjunct Professor, Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro; Central Committee member, Partido Comunista do Brasil (PCdoB)

Mick Kelly
Central Committee member, Freedom Road Socialist Organization (US)

Dee Knight
Author; Member of Democratic Socialists of America (DSA) International Committee’s East Asia and Anti-War subcommittees (US)

Daniel Kovalik
Adjunct Professor of International Human Rights at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law (US)

Kamal Majid
Emeritus Professor, Cardiff University (Britain)

Chris Matlhako
Secretary for International Relations, South African Communist Party

Dirk Nimmegeers
Co-editor of ChinaSquare.be and China Vandaag (Belgium)

Diasporic Koreans and comrades organizing for a world free of imperialism, and for Korea’s reunification and national liberation.

Ben Norton
Journalist and editor, Multipolarista (US/Nicaragua)

KJ Noh
Journalist, educator, political analyst; organizer with Pivot to Peace and Veterans for Peace (US)

Gearóid Ó Machail
Member, National Executive Committee (NEC), Communist Party of Ireland

John Parker
National Co-Coordinator, Socialist Unity Party (US)

Qiao Collective
Diaspora Chinese media collective challenging US aggression on China.

Gabriel Rockhill
Professor of Philosophy; Founding Director, Critical Theory Workshop (US)

John Riddell
Founding Director, Communist International Publishing Project (Canada)

Carlos Ron
President, Instituto Simón Bolívar (Venezuela)

Fiona Sim
Organiser, Goldsmiths Anti-Imperialist Society (Britain)

Ben Stahnke
Editor & Publisher, Iskra Books (US)

Brendan Stone
Co-chair, Hamilton Coalition To Stop The War (Canada)

Robin Talbot
Chair, Young Communist League (Britain)

Kassem Tofailli
President, Arab Chinese Cooperation & Development Association (Lebanon)

Tan Wah Piow
Human Rights Lawyer (Britain)

Yuri Tavrovsky
Head, Experts Council, Russo-Chinese Friendship, Peace and Cooperation Council (Russia)