Webinar: Korea’s Struggle for Independence, Peace and Reunification

We are pleased to be co-sponsoring this International Manifesto Group webinar about Korea.

Date: Sunday 21 November 2021
Time: 11am EST, 8am PST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET
Location: Zoom and YouTube
Registration: Eventbrite

We take a look beneath and behind western stereotypes of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea – as totalitarian, autarkic, economically bankrupt, led by a dynasty and a cult, and a nuclear bad-boy – to probe the realities, old and new, by addressing key questions including the ongoing Korean War; the nature and motivations of the Workers’ Party of Korea governments; the reasons for its nuclear arsenal; the need to end sanctions; the history and present of the US nuclear threat in East Asia; and the path to national reunification, to which the Korean people, whether in the north, south or diaspora, remain committed.

Speakers include:

  • Dr Kiyul Chung (Visiting Professor, Tsinghua University)
  • KJ Noh (Peace activist and expert on the geopolitics of Asia)
  • Xiangyu (Political commentator and Chinese hip-hop artist)
  • Sara Flounders (United National Antiwar Coalition, peace activist and author)
  • Derek R Ford (Assistant professor, DePauw University)
  • Dr Hugh Goodacre (Teaching Fellow, University College London)
  • Keith Bennett (Co-editor, Friends of Socialist China)
  • Chair: Radhika Desai (Professor, University of Manitoba; Convenor of the International Manifesto Group)

One thought on “Webinar: Korea’s Struggle for Independence, Peace and Reunification”

  1. I am from Vancouver,Canada and i wanted to say that the Gov’ts of Canada, USA and the EU got contempt for the People and the Gov’t of the DPRK.That has been proved many times over the decades. Here in Canada and in the USA and Europe people will only hear lies about what is going on in the DPRK.Although if people in these places tries hard enough they can get the truth about the DPRK.The majority of people in the world supports the DPRK although you would never know by listening to these Gov’ts.
    The Yankees never signed a Peace Treaty with the DPRK.That is a good sign that the US Gov’t is not interested in Peace.Yankees Go Home!The US Gov’t should listen to that.That slogan has been around for many decades.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.